#102 – 5783 176A Street, Cloverdale, BC, V3S 6S6 1 604 408 0746 unifor2000@unifor2000.ca

MONTREAL, May 28, 2022 /CNW/ – The Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021 CAJ Awards for outstanding investigative journalism.

This included presenting the McGillivray Award, recognizing the program’s best investigative journalism, to APTN News’ Brittany Guyot and Kathleen Martens. The team’s Surviving Day Schools entry used freedom-of-information and other investigative techniques to confirm that Indian Day Schools have also seen student deaths echoing the tragedy of these fatalities that had its reckoning moment in 2021 at residential schools across Canada.

Earlier in the evening, Surviving Day Schools had been named the inaugural recipient in the Freedom of Information Journalism category. The McGillivray Award judging panel considered this entry alongside the other eight entries named winners in the CAJ Awards’ eight investigative categories.

The CAJ Awards were presented by MC Noémi Mercier as part of the CAJ 2022 conference held in Montreal, with finalists unable to attend invited to participate in a video conference that was also livestreamed on the CAJ’s Facebook page.

Read more